Hearty Italian Chicken Soup

I’ve made this soup so many times this year, often when we’ve had guests for a light lunch or supper. It’s super easy to put together and really comforting. I often make it after I’ve made a poached chicken (recipe here), it’s easy to use the thigh or leg meat which we’re not as fond of in this dish.

If you are vegetarian then you can make this using massel 7’s vegetable stock which is available on amazon. These are gf df and onion/garlic free.

I’ve realised that I’m more intolerant to courgette than I thought, so I have lowered from the ‘safe’ portion to my own tolerance level. Personally I now put in about 100-120g in to save my tum from bloating.

Ingredients

  • 1 litre stock (using my chicken stock recipe or using 2 massel 7s stock cubes and water)
  • 1 tsp garlic oil or spray oil
  • 1 chicken breast or any other piece of chicken (eg leg and a thigh)
  • 2 carrots
  • 1 yellow bell pepper
  • 150g courgette (safe serve 60g pp)
  • 1 tin tomatoes chopped or 4 fresh medium tomatoes chopped up finely
  • Handful of fresh rosemary and thyme chopped finely (or 1tsp mixed herbs if you haven’t got them)

Recipe serves 4

1. Take your carrots, quarter them and dice finely. Cut the bell pepper into thumb sized pieces and cut the courgette into 1cm sized pieces.
2. Place a saucepan onto a medium heat, add the garlic oil, half the herbs and vegetables into the pan and start to heat through until they are sizzling, your peppers may start to get a little colour and that’s okay. This should be approximately 3-5 minutes.
3. Pour in your stock and bring to the boil. Add in the tin of tomatoes. Simmer for 10 minutes.
4. Check the flavour of your soup, if needed add in your extra stock cube and season with salt and pepper.
5. Shred or pull your chicken into shreds or else dice into 1cm chunks.
6. Add your chicken to the soup and bring to the boil again. Simmer again for another 10 minutes.
7. Bring your soup off the heat and add in the remainder of your herbs. Stir around and serve in bowls with some lovely hot crispy bread.

I am in love with the followyourheart Italian shredded parmesan style cheese. It tastes really good and like a normal parmesan style cheese, my boyfriend couldn’t tell the difference which is the real taste test.

Leave a comment